Glow Peptides
For research use only. Not for human or veterinary use, diagnostic use, or in any therapeutic application.

Third-Party Peptide Testing Labs: What Each Report Proves

What a peptide lab report shared on Reddit can prove: identity, purity, quantity, endotoxin, and sterility tests, and how to check a report with the lab.

Research documentation, dated September 22, 2026. Educational reference for laboratory research material records.

A lab report shared in a community thread proves only what its listed tests measured, on the sample it identifies, and only after the report is traced back to the lab that issued it. This page reads each common test type (identity, purity, quantity, endotoxin, and sterility) against FDA and NIST texts that describe what such a test is designed to show, then walks through one lab's published lookup. It ranks, rates, and endorses no laboratory.

Every worked example is a teaching example: placeholders such as <lab-name> and <accession-number> stand in for real values and describe no real report, lot, or material.

What do Reddit searches about testing labs ask?

Adding Reddit to a testing lab's name usually asks for a second opinion on a document. Three questions recur. Is this report real, issued by the lab named on it? How can I check it myself, without relying on the person who posted it? What does the number mean, most often a purity percentage near the top? Each needs a different kind of answer. The first is settled only by the issuing lab's own records. The second is a short procedure anyone can repeat. The third depends on which test produced the number and the basis the report states for it. A thread can point to a report but cannot supply those answers, so this page organizes them by test type, for a report from any lab.

Questions behind a lab-name search and the evidence that settles each
QuestionEvidence that can settle it
Is this report real?The issuing lab's own lookup, reached without links inside the file
What does the percentage mean?The test type, the stated basis, and any stated limits
Does it address endotoxin or viable microorganisms?Separate endotoxin and sterility lines, each with a named method
Is the lab legit?Accreditation records for a defined scope, held by the accrediting body

Which five questions can a lab report answer?

A lab report can answer five separate questions about the sample it names, each through its own test. Identity: is the sample the named compound? Purity: what share of the detected material is that compound, on a stated basis? Quantity: how much of it is present, in a stated unit? Endotoxin: was bacterial endotoxin found relative to the method's limit? Sterility: were viable microorganisms detected? FDA's guidance carrying the ICH Q2(R2) text on validating analytical procedures lists assay, purity, impurity, and identity as distinct purposes of an analytical procedure. FDA's endotoxin questions and answers and the federal sterility regulation for licensed biological products each address their own test. None of those texts mentions any lab or research material, and each is read only for what its test type is designed to show.

Direct answer

A lab report proves only what its listed tests measured, on the sample it identifies. Identity asks whether the sample matches the named compound within the discrimination the method has shown. Purity gives a share of detected signal on a stated basis. Quantity gives an amount in a stated unit. Endotoxin and sterility are separate tests with separate targets. A test missing from the report established nothing, in either direction, about that attribute.

Five report questions and the limit of each
QuestionTest type a report may nameWhat a finding can establishWhat it leaves open
IdentityMass spectrometry, such as LC-MSA measured mass consistent with the named compoundWhich related materials were ruled out
PurityHPLC with a named detectorShare of detected signal, on the stated basisThe amount present
QuantityAssay or net contentAn amount, in a stated unitWhat else is present
EndotoxinGel-clot, photometric, or kinetic methodsBacterial endotoxin against the method's limitOther pyrogens; viable organisms
SterilityCulture-based or non-culture-based methodViable microorganisms in the portion testedEvery other row

What does a mass match show about identity?

A mass match shows that the sample produced a signal at the mass expected for the named compound. That is evidence about one structural feature, and its strength depends on what else could give the same reading. The ICH Q2(R2) guidance says an identification test should show it can identify the analyte from structural features unique to it, and should be challenged with closely related materials to confirm they do not give a positive. Where one procedure does not discriminate enough, the guidance recommends combining two or more so that one covers the gaps of another. A report that prints one mass and the word conforms states the lab's conclusion. On its own it does not show which related materials were checked, or whether a second procedure supported the identification.

Freedom Diagnostics, on its homepage, describes identity testing by LC-MS reported as molecular mass; that is a service description, not a finding.

IDENTITY LINE, ANNOTATED (teaching example; every value is a placeholder)

  Method ........... <LC-MS | MS | not stated>
  Expected mass .... <expected value and unit>
  Observed mass .... <observed value and unit>
  Conclusion ....... <conforms | does not conform>

  Shows ........... a signal at the expected mass, in the portion tested
  Does not show ... which related materials were checked
The identity line states a conclusion; specificity needs more than this line.

Instrument detail lives in the guide to HPLC and mass spectrometry. An identity finding speaks to which compound, not how much.

What is a purity percentage a share of?

A purity percentage is a share of whatever the report's stated basis measures: detector signal for area percent, or weight for weight per weight. The ICH Q2(R2) guidance says the basis of an impurity figure should be described and gives those two as examples. The guidance's appendix explains that when a compound's detector response differs from the reference, for example through different UV absorbance, relative response factors are calculated; peak size tracks detector response, not automatically mass. The guidance also defines a detection limit as the lowest amount a procedure can detect but not necessarily quantify, and a quantitation limit as the lowest amount it measures with suitable precision and accuracy. A percentage without a stated basis is therefore incomplete, and an entry reading not detected means below what the method could see, never zero.

Purity wording as a report may print it (teaching examples with placeholders)
Wording as printedWhat it statesWhat to look for next
Purity <value>% (HPLC)A share; basis not statedArea percent, weight per weight, or another basis
Purity <value>% (area)Share of detected peak areaThe detector, and whether response factors were applied
Impurity: not detectedBelow the method's detection limitThe limit value and its unit
Impurity: below <limit>Below a stated limitWhether it is a detection or a quantitation limit

A cropped screenshot can lose the basis or limit line, leaving the percentage without a meaning. The row-by-row comparison against a reader's questions is the method-scope matrix in the COA interpretation guide.

Why is quantity a separate measurement from purity?

Quantity and purity answer different questions, so neither stands in for the other. Purity is a share: of the material the method detected, what fraction is the named compound. Quantity is an amount: how much of the compound is present, in a stated unit. The ICH Q2(R2) guidance lists assay and purity as distinct purposes for an analytical procedure. Freedom Diagnostics, describing its own services, lists net content, which it explains as the amount of peptide in the vial, separately from HPLC purity given as a percentage. A report showing only a purity percentage has said nothing about content, and a content figure alone says nothing about what else is present. Two vials could share a purity figure and differ in content, and neither report would be wrong about what it measured.

SAME PURITY LINE, DIFFERENT QUESTIONS (teaching example; placeholders only)

  Report line         Vial A (teaching)   Vial B (teaching)
  ------------------  ------------------  ------------------
  Purity, HPLC area   <P>%                <P>%  (same entry)
  Net content         <Q1> <unit>         <Q2> <unit>
  Label statement     <L> <unit>          <L> <unit>
The purity line cannot tell vial A from vial B; only the content line, in the label's unit, can.

The same lab describes conformity testing of extra vials from one lot. A finding on one vial describes that vial; a claim about a whole lot needs the report to say more than one container was tested.

What does an endotoxin finding detect?

An endotoxin finding reports bacterial endotoxin in the portion tested, against the method's limit, and nothing broader. FDA's questions-and-answers guidance on pyrogen and endotoxins testing, Edition 2 of March 2026, notes that FDA has accepted the LAL endotoxin test in place of the rabbit pyrogen test for more than 30 years, and that chapter 85 of the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) describes gel-clot, photometric, and kinetic methods. It asks firms to assess the risk of pyrogens other than endotoxin, notes that a test article's own properties can interfere with an endotoxin assay, and says storage and handling can affect whether endotoxin is detected. An endotoxin line is therefore a statement about one contaminant class, not about the sample's overall cleanliness. The guidance addresses FDA-regulated products only.

Direct answer

An endotoxin finding does not mean sterile or pyrogen-free. FDA's endotoxin guidance describes the test as detecting bacterial endotoxin, and it asks firms to assess non-endotoxin pyrogens as a separate risk that can call for the rabbit pyrogen test. Sterility is a different test, validated to detect viable microorganisms. A report supports each of those claims only when it lists a test for that claim, with the method named.

Items to check on an endotoxin line
Item on the reportWhy it mattersSource of the point
Method namedUSP chapter 85 describes several methods, so the line should say whichFDA Q&A, Background
Limit statedA finding below a limit is not a finding of zeroQ2(R2), detection limit
Interference or handling noteSample properties, storage, and handling can affect detectionFDA Q&A, Q3 and Q9
Scope of the claimEndotoxin only; not other pyrogens or sterilityFDA Q&A, Q9

What does a sterility claim have to show?

A sterility claim has to rest on a test for viable microorganisms that suits the material and has been shown to detect contamination consistently. The clearest federal statement of that expectation is 21 CFR 610.12, the sterility regulation for licensed biological products, read in its April 1, 2024 edition. It requires the test to be appropriate to the material so the material does not interfere, requires the method to be validated to detect viable contaminating microorganisms dependably and consistently, and provides for both culture-based and non-culture-based methods. The regulation binds licensed biologics only; it is not a requirement for research materials and says nothing about any lab. It helps a report reader because it spells out what a sterility test is designed to show.

Freedom Diagnostics, on its homepage, describes a sterility screen it calls PCR-based (PCR is the polymerase chain reaction). The regulation provides for non-culture-based methods alongside culture-based ones. Side by side, the lab's wording names a method family and the regulation says what a sterility test for licensed biologics must be shown to do; neither is a finding about any sample.

Questions to put to any sterility line on a report
QuestionWhy it mattersBasis in 21 CFR 610.12
Which method family is named?Culture-based and non-culture-based methods are different proceduresBoth are provided for
Is the target viable microorganisms?That is what a sterility test is designed to detectValidation requirement
Is suitability for this material addressed?The material must not interfere with detectionAppropriateness requirement

A line reading screen is copied as printed; rewriting it as sterile adds a claim the line did not make.

How do you verify a shared lab report?

Verifying a shared report means reaching the issuing lab on your own and asking its records whether the document exists as shown. Type the lab's web address yourself rather than following a link or code inside the file, because a document cannot vouch for the address it points to. Open the lab's own lookup, enter the identifier printed on the report, and compare five things with what the lab returns: lab name, identifier, sample description, date, and each finding. Record the check with its date. No return, or a document that differs in any of the five places, is a finding about the shared copy, not a glitch to explain away. A match shows the lab issued that document; tying it to a particular container is a separate step.

Direct answer

To verify a lab report, type the lab's address yourself instead of following a link in the document, open the lab's own lookup, and enter the identifier printed on the report. Compare the lab name, identifier, sample description, date, and every finding with what the lab returns. A match shows the lab issued that document. No match, or any mismatch, is itself a finding to record with the date of the check.

One documented example: Freedom Diagnostics publishes a lookup page, labeled COA Look Up in its navigation, that accepts a search code, an accession number, or a company name. It says the search code is the company name's first four characters followed by the accession number, is not case-sensitive, and sits in the certificate's top-right table. Matches open as PDFs, and the page carries a research-use-only notice. Janoshik is another lab name in these searches; its own website is the place to read how its verification works.

SEARCH CODE, ASSEMBLED FROM A CERTIFICATE (teaching example; placeholders only)

  Company name on certificate ....... <company-name>
  First four characters ............. <c1c2c3c4>
  Accession number, top-right table . <accession-number>
  Search code ....................... <c1c2c3c4><accession-number>
How the lab's instructions assemble a search code; its page, not this schematic, is the authority.
Verification log for one shared report (teaching template); status is same, differs, or not shown
FieldOn the shared copyReturned by the lookupStatus
Lab name<lab-name><lab-name><status>
Identifier<accession-number><accession-number><status>
Sample description<as printed><as returned><status>
Report date<date><date><status>
Each finding<as printed><as returned><status>

Linking a confirmed identifier to a lot, then a container, is covered in peptide lot traceability.

What can legit mean for a testing lab?

No web page, thread, or badge can settle whether a testing lab is legit, because the word bundles separate claims, each checked against a different record. Accreditation is one. In the US, NIST's National Voluntary Laboratory Accreditation Program (NVLAP) accredits testing and calibration labs against ISO/IEC 17025:2017, publishes a directory of accredited labs with a search by test method, and accredits each lab for a defined scope, not for everything it does. Measurement traceability is another. NIST's traceability policy calls it a property of a reported measurement, linked to a reference through a documented unbroken chain of calibrations that each add uncertainty; supporting the claim falls to whoever provides the measurement, and traceability alone does not make a measurement fit for a purpose.

Direct answer

No page can settle whether a testing lab is legit. Accreditation is checked in the accrediting body's own directory, for the specific scope that covers the test on the report. A lab's description of itself is not an accreditation record, and a missing claim is not evidence of missing accreditation. Traceability of a measurement must be supported by the lab that reported it, and even then it does not by itself show fitness for a purpose.

Words used about labs, and the record that would support each
Word you may seeRecord that would support itWho holds that record
AccreditedA directory entry naming the lab, with a scope covering the test typeThe accrediting body, such as NVLAP
TraceableA documented calibration chain, with stated uncertainty, for that measurementThe lab that reported it
Verified reportA lookup match on identifier, lab name, sample, date, and findingsThe issuing lab's lookup
LegitNo single record; split it into the rows aboveOne party per row

NVLAP is one US program, and a lab can hold accreditation from another body, so absence from one directory is not a finding of no accreditation.

How do you write a conclusion no wider than the report?

A conclusion no wider than the report names the lab, the identifier, the date of your check, and the sample as described, gives each test with its finding, and then lists what the report did not test. It avoids words the report does not support. Pure, clean, real, and legit are each wider than any single finding: a purity figure on a stated basis is not purity in general, an endotoxin line is not sterility, and a lookup match says nothing about a container you hold. Writing the untested attributes into the sentence stops the next reader from filling the gap with an assumption. A second reader holding the same report and lookup should arrive at the same sentence.

CONCLUSION TEMPLATE (teaching example; every value is a placeholder)

  Report <accession-number> from <lab-name>, matched in the lab's
  lookup on <date of check>, describes a sample labeled <description>.
  Identity ..... <method>: <finding as printed>
  Purity ....... <value>%, basis <as stated | not stated>
  Quantity ..... <finding and unit | not tested>
  Endotoxin .... <finding and limit | not tested>
  Sterility .... <finding and method | not tested>
  Not addressed: <every attribute left open>
Each line copies the report; not tested is written out, never left blank.

For a question-by-question comparison, use the COA interpretation guide; for the certificate fields themselves, use the guide to reading a certificate of analysis; for supplier-level document checks, see the peptide source guide.

Check lot-specific document availability and the reported methods and findings. Missing or held documentation remains unresolved.

Browse the research catalog →

Frequently asked questions

How can I tell whether a lab report shared online is genuine?

Only the issuing lab can confirm it. Type the lab's address yourself, use its own lookup with the identifier printed on the report, and compare the returned document with the shared copy field by field. A cropped image can hide the identifier or the sample description, so ask for the full document first. A clean match proves only that the lab issued that document, not that a given container came from the sampled lot.

Does a high HPLC purity percentage mean the vial holds the labeled amount?

No. An HPLC purity percentage is a share of detected signal on the basis the report states, so it describes composition, not amount. How much compound a vial holds is a separate measurement, usually reported as assay or net content, in its own unit. A report can show high purity and no content figure, leaving the amount unreported. When both appear, compare content with the label in the same unit, for the same sample.

How can I check whether a testing laboratory is accredited?

Search the accrediting body's own directory rather than relying on the lab's website or a logo on a report. In the US, NIST's NVLAP publishes a directory of accredited labs with a search by test method and accredits each lab for a defined scope, so confirm the scope covers the test type on your report and note the date. If a lab names a different body, search that body's records; missing from one directory does not show a lab is unaccredited.

Does an endotoxin test also cover sterility?

No. FDA's endotoxin guidance describes an endotoxin test as detecting bacterial endotoxin, while the federal sterility regulation for licensed biologics describes a sterility test validated to detect viable contaminating microorganisms. A sample can be tested for one and not the other, so a report addresses sterility only if it lists a sterility test and its method. Pyrogens other than endotoxin are a third question, which FDA asks firms to assess separately.

What should a report for a tested batch show before I rely on it?

At minimum, the issuing lab's name, an identifier the lab's lookup recognizes, a sample description tying the document to a named lot, the report date, and, for each test, the method and the finding with its basis, unit, or limit. Anything not listed was not tested by that report, and a document without an identifier or sample description cannot be checked. The Learn guide on reading a certificate of analysis walks through each field.

Sources and scope notes

Sources were read on September 22, 2026, US Pacific time (September 23, UTC). The FDA guidance documents and 21 CFR 610.12 cover regulated drug products and licensed biologics; they are cited for what each test type is designed to show, not as requirements for research materials. ICH Q2(R2) is nonbinding, and the regulation was read in its 2024 edition, not the current electronic one.

Freedom Diagnostics statements are the lab's self-description. Janoshik's own pages were not read, so nothing here describes its process, location, or standing. ISO/IEC 17025 is named only as NVLAP's reference and was not read. No community post or user is quoted, linked, or characterized. No laboratory is ranked, rated, endorsed, or described as accredited, and nothing here describes any supplier's material, lot, or report, including Glow's.

For laboratory research use only. Not for human or veterinary use.

This reference describes documentation and record-reading methods only. It is not a purchasing, preparation, or use guide, and it does not describe any specific lot or report. Glow Peptides publishes this documentation and also sells laboratory research materials, so it is not an independent evaluation of any vendor, material, or record.